Making a Difference – Then and Now!

April 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

We celebrate the email we received this week from one of our two first graduates (1991)! Kathleen wrote: “I had so much fun looking at the wall (Facebook)! I think about you guys all the time. You have no idea how much my education there has helped me in my career….and knowing you guys has helped me in life.”

And another we just received from Andrew: “I’m graduating in one month with my BFA from FIT.  I’ve been participating in numerous competitions and just recently found out by email one of my (prints) has been selected for the International Print Center NY (gallery in chelsea). Their were over 10,000 submissions and only 200 are selected, my print will be exhibited at the gallery from May 24 – July 27. I’m taking a year off before I pursue my masters and continue working on my art and build a body of work. My website will be up soon that will reveal everything I have completed in the past three years. I am very ambitious about my painting career and wouldn’t have gotten this far if it wasn’t for Counterpane and your wisdom.”

Making a difference NOW can look like this comment from an Upper School student:  “I wanted to mention that while I was washing the donkey the other day, I realized that I would never get this amazing opportunity at any other school. It was actually my first time washing a four legged creature and it was surprisingly fun!”

Such is the world of Counterpane. Learning is a way of life, inherent in the crevices of daily practice. The magic of learning is in the question, not the answer. We must never underestimate the power of every moment and each experience as they touch our students in the most unpredictable ways.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making a Difference – Then and Now! at Our Bragging Writes.

meta