What Makes Our World Turn?

February 7, 2013 § Leave a comment

chickens

This a an email that makes my heart swell past the limits of my body! Please enjoy this acknowledgment of who we are and what we stand for! Go Counterpane!…one little school doing a very good job – inside our walls and outside our walls!

What a wonderful new family joining our Counterpane environment.

sliceofcelieDear Brenda,
Greetings from snowy, cold Alaska!  I’ve put Atlanta in my weather update every day, just to torture myself with the dream of days above freezing, and roads without ice and snow.  My husband and I can’t wait to be “too hot”!
 
I just wanted to touch base.  I miss Counterpane, and you, and we were only there a week!  Chase started new classes this semester and one of them is Outdoor Adventure.  He came home the first day completely disgusted.  He said he can’t wait to be at Counterpane where an Outdoor Adventure class would go outdoors!  Their class watches movies and write papers about outdoor adventures, and isn’t going to be having any actual adventures.  We long to be back at a school with roaming chickens, a garden and a courtyard where he can sit and read.  
I follow the Counterpane facebook page and your twitter feed.  I know that you are self-confident enough to not need me to say this, but a few days ago I was reading what someone was tweeting about Souns and basically saying that your program doesn’t help kids get ready to read, or something to that effect, and I just want you to know that just speaking for myself, I am so inspired by what you have done and I can’t wait to put my son in your school.   I’m struggling with myself whether to work like I’ve always done or devote time to volunteering in any way I can to help with your literacy program.  
 
I hope you’re doing well.  It looks like you are extremely busy, and I can’t wait to be part of the Counterpane, and possibly Souns, experience.   Thank you for working so hard to give kids a wonderful place to learn, and for devoting so much of your life to teaching babies and kids to start to read.  If you want or need to call me!
 
All our love from Alaska!
 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Makes Our World Turn? at Our Bragging Writes.

meta