The Me That is Me

May 23, 2016 § Leave a comment

This beautiful piece of work came out of our Upper School writing class through a free-writing session (without a prompt). It’s amazing how perceptive our students are. Enjoy!

The me that was me in middle school is not the me that is me now. There was once a time when I didn’t like music. Now it’s one of my biggest passions. There was once a time when drawing was my biggest passion. Now it’s merely a hobby.

The me that was me in middle school was insecure and shy and too afraid to be herself. She had a small group of close friends, but she longed for something more.

The me that was me in 8th grade discovered Montessori, and at first she thought it was pronounced mon-TESS-or-i instead of mon-tess-OR-i. Then she toured Counterpane, and that soon changed.

The me that was me almost 2 years ago started going to Counterpane and met people such as Ninti and Adam and Nikayla. The me that was me in 9th grade joined Improv, despite vowing not to do anything that involved a stage. Later that year, she sang in EFTA, despite promising herself she wouldn’t do that either.

Now, she’s in 10th grade, but 10th grade is almost over. So far in high school, she’s discovered music, and photography and theater and politics. The me that was me evolved into the me that is me, and the me that is me is not afraid to explore new passions and express how she feels. The me that is me is no longer shy and introverted, and she wouldn’t have changed if it weren’t for meeting people who were willing to push her toward a positive change in an environment that encouraged that positive change.

FullSizeRender (2)

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Me That is Me at Our Bragging Writes.

meta

